Study Group on Asia-Pacific Tax Administration and Research


SGATAR Taskforce

The SGATAR Taskforce fulfills the role of a secretariat, along with a mandate to seek continuous improvements in the way that the association is administered and run.


The SGATAR Taskforce was formed to review the operation of SGATAR so that it might be more effective in enhancing tax collaboration within the Asia-Pacific region.

It was first established in 2013 and consisted of representatives from Australia, China, Korea, Japan and Singapore.

The value of the Taskforce was quickly recognised – it conveniently filled the administrative void by functioning as a virtual secretariat – and it was established as a permanent feature of the association in 2014.

Taskforce membership follows the hosting cycle – the current members are: Malaysia (2022 Chair), Thailand (2023 Chair) and Republic of Korea (2024 Chair).