Study Group on Asian Tax Administration and Research



The Study Group on Asian Tax Administration and Research (SGATAR) was established in 1970 as an annual forum for tax administrators to enhance cooperation, improve administration and discuss issues related to tax administration.


In its formative years SGATAR was sponsored by the Ministerial Conference for the Economic Development of Southeast Asia (SEAMCED) and Japan was the Study Group’s major financial contributor.

SGATAR‘s activities have centred on aiding administrative reform through the sharing of information and insights in regard to specific tax issues. More broadly, it has sought to facilitate the alignment of various tax systems in the Asia-Pacific region in order to foster a tax regime favorable to the smooth development of trade and investment.


There are currently 17 members including: Australia, Cambodia, People’s Republic of China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong SAR, Indonesia, Japan, Macao SAR, Malaysia, Mongolia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, South Korea, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Annual SGATAR Meetings serve to strengthen the solidarity of members. There are also a number of observer jurisdictions and organisations that attend the Annual Meeting. Such meetings are known to attract more than 200 delegates.

Current Chair

The current Chair of SGATAR is the Philippines.China will take over this role in November 2018.

Upcoming Hosts

China has agreed to host the 48th Annual Meeting in 2018 and Indonesia will host the following year (2019).